Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MLA Citations Guide - Maple Woods

Welcome! Nervous about MLA citations? This is the place for you! Information about in-text citations, bibliography format, and general rules of practice for citations in academia!

Scholarly Article in a Database - with DOI

For scholarly articles accessed through a database, provide the print information and then list the database and the DOI (digital object identifier), if the article has one. 

DOI example for a scholarly article from a database:

Kelly, Brendan D. "Coronavirus Disease: Challenges for Psychiatry." The British Journal of Psychiatry, vol. 217, no. 1, 2020, pp. 352-353.       

        ProQuestezproxy.mcckc.edu:2255/10.1192/bjp.2020.86.

 

In-Text Citation, Direct Quote Example:

"..." (Kelly 353).

 

Scholarly Article in a Database - without DOI

If the article in the database does not have a DOI, use a URL.

For URLs from a database, be sure to use the permalink or stable URL as those remain active links for others to follow.  Databases usually make the permalink or stable URL available. (These are not the same as copying the URL from the browser window.) If you click the citation icon included in the database, the permalink is often listed.

Example for a scholarly article with no DOI.

Kelly, Brendan D. "Coronavirus Disease: Challenges for Psychiatry." The British Journal of Psychiatry, vol. 217, no. 1, 2020, pp. 352-353.

        ProQuest, ezproxy.mcckc.edu:2048/login?url=https://ezproxy.mcckc.edu:2085/docview/2417968717?accountid=2182.

Note: Do not include http:// or https:// in the URL.

 

In-Text Citation, Direct Quote Example:

"..." (Kelly 352).

Scholarly Article from a Website

When citing an article from a website, include the URL.

Example for a scholarly article from a website:

Hata, Susan R. "The Ritual of the Table." New England Journal of Medicine, 1 Oct. 2020, www.nejm.org/doi/full/10.1056/NEJMp2014455?   

          query=recirc_inIssue_bottom_article.

Note: Do not include http:// or https:// in the URL.

 

In-Text Citation, Direct Quote Example:

"..." (Hata).

Scholarly Article in a Print Journal

A print article is formatted the same as an online article from a database without any database/URL information.

Example for a print journal:

Gilbert, Michael D. “The Problem of Voter Fraud.” Columbia Law Review, vol. 115, no. 3, 2015, pp. 739–775. 

 

In-Text Citation, Direct Quote Example:

"..." (Gilbert 744).

Note: Include the exact page number(s) where your quote appears in the source.