Books/Articles - Longview - The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks - Common Read Project - LibGuides at Metropolitan Community College Kansas City

Henrietta Lacks

The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot
Call Number: 616.027 Sk4i 2011
ISBN: 9781400052189
Publication Date: 2011-03-08
Audio Version on CD: The immortal life of Henrietta Lacks [sound recording (10 CDs)] / Rebecca Skloot. 616.027 Sk4i CD
A Conspiracy of Cells by Michael Gold
Call Number: Available through MOBIUS
ISBN: 0887060994
Publication Date: 1985-10-01

Our Catalog - Longview

Books

Black man in a white coat : a doctor's reflections on race and medicine by Damon Tweedy
Call Number: 610.92 T91b
ISBN: 9781250044631
Publication Date: 2015-09-08
The Inequality and African-American Health by Shirley A. Hill
Call Number: 362.1089 H55i
ISBN: 9781447322818
Publication Date: 2016-10-05
Medical Apartheid by Harriet A. Washington
Call Number: 174.28 W27m
ISBN: 9780385509930
Publication Date: 2007-01-09
Medicating Race by Anne Pollock
Call Number: 616.12 P76m
ISBN: 9780822353447
Publication Date: 2012-10-02
The Search for the Legacy of the USPHS Syphilis Study at Tuskegee by Ralph Katz; Rueben C. Warren
Call Number: Request through MOBIUS
ISBN: 9780739147252
Publication Date: 2011-07-27

Subject Headings for Further Research

African Americans--Medical care - History
Human experimentation in medicine
Medical ethics
Medicine--Research
Patients--Legal status
Physicians--Malpractice
Transplantation of organs, tissues, etc.
Tuskegee Syphillis Study
Victims of crime--Legal status

Topic Ideas

Science:

Informed consent
Tissue ownership
Women's health
Medical experimentation on African Americans and other minorities
HPV and cervical cancer
HeLa cells
Vaccines
Biobanks
Eugenics
Human Genome/Gene mapping
Cloning
Polio vaccine

Social Sciences:

Racial segregation in medical treatment
The Great Migration
Tuskegee Study
Institutionalized racism
Poverty/class and medical treatment
Privacy
Donor compensation
Race, class, gender and health care
Nuremburg Code
Racial and ethnic disparities in health care

English:

Ethics of biography or journalism
Symbolism
Character development
Setting
Writing Structure
Representing race or disease in science, literature, art
Genetics in speculative literature or science fiction

Current Issues:

Universal healthcare
Institutionalization of children
Pharmaceutical companies and research
Government funding and research
Medical ethics/Bioethics
Human vs. Animal research
Genetics on an individual and macro level
Money, science, and medicine

Opposing Viewpoints and CQ Researcher

Opposing Viewpoints (Gale) (NOTE: To access the MCC Databases, enter your student/employee number (S1234567) followed by your MCC password.)

The Opposing Viewpoints Database provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, court cases, statistical tables, images, podcasts, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles. Topics include:

Bioethics
Health Care Access
Health Care Legislation
Medical Care
Organ Donation and Transplantation
Poverty
Supreme Court
Vaccines
Cancer
Health Care Disparities
Human Genetics
Medical Ethics
Pharmaceutical Industry
Stem Cells
Terminal Care

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Published by Congressional Quarterly, with its tradition of nonpartisan reporting and analysis, each CQ Researcher presents an in-depth, balanced account of a current or controversial issue on the public agenda.

Articles

NOTE: To access the MCC Databases, enter your student/employee number (S1234567) followed by your MCC password.

Access Science
Access Science is the online version of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology and the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms. It contains nearly 9,000 online encyclopedia articles, terms, images and videos related to science and technology plus links to primary research material and exclusive animations.

African-American History Online (Facts on File) This link opens in a new window
Provides material from core reference resources in African American studies. Includes biographies, subject entries, primary sources, images, maps, and timelines.
Consumer Health Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated medicine. This full-text database covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health, etc. Formats include articles from consumer health related periodicals, evidence-based health reports, health reference books and encyclopedias, medical images and diagrams, physician-generated videos, consumer health pamphlets, and animations with audio narration.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archived database of articles from academic journals in many fields, especially history, sociology, political science, business, education, law, economics, ethnic studies, language & literature, philosophy, religion, music, art & art history, film studies, folklore, the performing arts, health, mathematics, and the sciences.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text articles from scholarly journals, magazines, trade publications, and other sources. Wide range of subject areas, including the arts, business, education, health, law, multicultural, psychology, the sciences, and social science.
Science Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full-text science-oriented content. Contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, animations, images, and videos. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology, and wildlife.

ProQuest Sociology Database
Sociology Database covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including relevant titles from related fields such as social policy, social care, social services, social anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, social psychology and population studies. It includes hundreds of full-text scholarly journals, as well as dissertations and other sources.