Local and Regional History Research Guide - Longview

The Black Archives of Mid-America, located in Kansas City, Missouri, is a center for learning and research into the African American experience in Missouri, Kansas, Iowa, Oklahoma and the Midwest at large.

Discover the Civil War's legacy in the Greater Kansas City region.

Events that happened in the 29 eastern Kansas and 12 western Missouri counties of Freedom’s Frontier National Heritage Area led to the Civil War and an enduring struggle for freedom. Conflict over slavery and other issues drew those on both sides into a violent Border War. Missouri heroes were Kansas villains. Kansas victories were Missouri tragedies. Now Freedom’s Frontier bridges the border. Explore Freedom’s Frontier National Heritage Area and experience from many viewpoints the strong freedom story that runs along the Missouri Kansas border.

The Midwest Genealogy Center (MGC) is one of the nation's preeminent resources for family history, providing access to almost three-quarter of a million on-site materials. The Genealogy Center features 52,000 square feet of space to house all the resources and technology genealogists need to research.

The National Frontier Trails Museum is a museum, interpretive center, and research library dedicated to telling the rich history of America’s principle western trails.

The Santa Fe Trail Association is composed of people of all ages and walks of life who are bound together by an interest in the fascinating saga of the Trail, and an interest in preserving its many physical traces and landmarks that still exist upon the face of the American West. While many of them live in the immediate vicinity of the Trail, the SFTA is proud to claim members from all over the United States.

From its inception, the Association has been committed to the collection, preservation, and dissemination of historical documents. In keeping with that tradition, the AHA staff digitizes and posts essays, reports, and other materials from the Association’s past. As the principal umbrella organization for the profession, the AHA’s history reflects that of the profession as a whole.

The American Indian Records Repository (AIRR) is under the directorship of the Records Officer and the Deputy Special Trustee of Program Management. AIRR staff and staff from the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) are working together to preserve Indian Affairs records. AIRR is a product of a partnership between NARA and the Department of the Interior. It is the first such partnership in history.
AIRR provides authorized researchers, federal employees who are conducting the historical trust accounting, tribes, and contractors secure access to inactive records for research. Records are stored in strict compliance with NARA standards.

With its close proximity to Haskell Indian Nations University, OTR employees at AIRR teach courses on records management.

Chronicling America is a Website providing access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, and is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP). NDNP, a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC), is a long-term effort to develop an Internet-based, searchable database of U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historic pages. Supported by NEH, this rich digital resource will be developed and permanently maintained at the Library of Congress. An NEH award program will fund the contribution of content from, eventually, all U.S. states and territories.

The vision of a national digital library has been circulating among librarians, scholars, educators, and private industry representatives since the early 1990s. Efforts led by a range of organizations, including the Library of Congress, HathiTrust, and the Internet Archive, have successfully built resources that provide books, images, historic records, and audiovisual materials to anyone with Internet access. Many universities, public libraries, and other public-spirited organizations have digitized materials, but these digital collections often exist in silos. The DPLA brings these different viewpoints, experiences, and collections together in a single platform and portal, providing open and coherent access to our society’s digitized cultural heritage.

The Internet Archive is a 501(c)(3) non-profit that was founded to build an Internet library. Its purposes include offering permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format.

Founded in 1996 and located in San Francisco, the Archive has been receiving data donations from Alexa Internet and others. In late 1999, the organization started to grow to include more well-rounded collections. Now the Internet Archive includes: texts, audio, moving images, and software as well as archived web pages in our collections, and provides specialized services for adaptive reading and information access for the blind and other persons with disabilities.

Founded in 1907, the Organization of American Historians (OAH) is the largest professional society dedicated to the teaching and study of American history. The mission of the organization is to promote excellence in the scholarship, teaching, and presentation of American history, and to encourage wide discussion of historical questions and the equitable treatment of all practitioners of history.