Local and Regional History Research Guide - Longview

More than 9 million records can be accessed through Missouri Digital Heritage, including the collections of the Missouri State Archives, the Missouri State Library and other institutions from across the state.

Focused on merging meaningful historic content with innovative modern technology, the State Historical Society of Missouri employs the highest national digitization standards: newspapers in our collection are digitized to National Digital Newspaper Program specifications. Many of Missouri’s digital newspapers are also available through the Library of Congress’s Chronicling America site, which ultimately aims to include newspaper pages from all states and U.S. territories in its collection.

The Missouri History Museum seeks to deepen the understanding of past choices, present circumstances, and future possibilities; strengthen the bonds of the community; and facilitate solutions to common problems.

This is a collection of 114 Missouri County plat books published by W.W. Hixson & Co. Although the exact year of publication is unclear, the volumes are estimated to be from the late 1920s to early 1930s.

Founded in 1898 by the Missouri Press Association and a trustee of the state since 1899, The State Historical Society of Missouri is the premier research center for the study of Missouri state and local history. The Society preserves and provides access to reference materials and historical collections through research centers located in Cape Girardeau, Columbia, Kansas City, Rolla, St. Louis, and Springfield. The Columbia research center also houses a significant art collection with ongoing and varied exhibitions and serves as the administrative headquarters for the Society.

There are many historical and genealogical societies throughout the state that work to document the history of a particular town or region. Often the resources held by local and regional institutions are not available anywhere else making these institutions a valuable source for research. This directory provides researchers the opportunity to locate or search the online resources of these institutions.

A research guide in the history of Native Americans including select articles, biographies, manuscripts, and outside resources.

The Missouri State Archives' African American History Initiative began in October 2001. The initiative aims to create a broad public awareness of the rich contributions of African Americans to the state, as well as offer new resources to historians and others studying Missouri's black history.

The Kansas Collection is the regional history division of the University of Kansas Libraries. The Collection provides researchers with primary source materials that document the history of Kansas and the region. In order to support teaching and research, the staff of the Collection acquire, preserve, and make available resources such as manuscripts, photographs, maps, architectural drawings and blueprints, books, newspapers, periodicals, film and videotapes that document the "Kansas Experience." The Kansas Collection is also a depository for publications of the state of Kansas and for Douglas County records.

The Kansas Historical Society is the state agency charged with actively safeguarding and sharing the state’s history to facilitate government accountability, economic development, and the education of Kansans. This is accomplished by collecting, preserving, and interpreting materials and information pertaining to state government and Kansas history.

Primary sources online from the Kansas Historical Society

A virtual repository for territorial Kansas History from 1854-1861.