World Geography - Geography Research Guide - Longview - LibGuides at Metropolitan Community College Kansas City

Our Catalog - Longview

The library has books on all major world regions. Search for Europe, Asia, Africa, Middle East, North America or the Pacific World.

Below is a sampling of books you can check out.

America Discovered by Derek Hayes
Call Number: 911.7 H32a
ISBN: 1553650492
Publication Date: 2004-11-01
Europe by Tim Flannery
Call Number: 508 F61e
ISBN: 9780802129161
Publication Date: 2019-02-12
Geography: Ideas in Profile by Danny Dorling; Carl Lee
Call Number: 910 D73g
ISBN: 9781781255308
Publication Date: 2016-09-13
Map: Exploring the World by Phaidon Editors; John Hessler
Call Number: 526 M32
ISBN: 9780714869445
Publication Date: 2015-09-04

Reference books do not check out but are available for viewing.

GreenFILE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment.

These databases are available both on and off campus. To access them off campus, you must login through MYMCCKC page on the college website.

ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text articles and abstracts from academic journals, newspapers, and magazines.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Articles from academic journals, including geography journals.
Science Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, animations, images, and videos.
Ancient and Medieval History Online (Facts on File) This link opens in a new window
Explores six ancient centers of civilization - Africa, Egypt, Greece, Rome, Mesoamerica, and Mesopotamia. Spanning the period from the early Hominids 3 to 5 million years ago through 1522 CE, features subject entries, biographies, primary sources, images, maps and charts, and timelines.

CIA - The World Factbook
Information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, military and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
Country Studies - Library of Congress
Description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.
World Migration Map
National Geographic
Background Notes - U.S. Department of State
Includes facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of world entities.