Databases/Articles - BIOL 208 - Microbiology - Maple Woods - LibGuides at Metropolitan Community College Kansas City

Using Databases

MCC subscribes to many databases, which provide access to online books, journal articles, dissertations, newspapers, and other materials such as images or sound recordings.

Why should I use database resources for my research?

Many databases index or provide access to academic journals that may be hard to find anywhere else. These often contain high quality, cutting edge research published by reputable publishers.
Databases allow you to filter your results, helping you find exactly what you need.
Many databases offer tools to help you save and cite the sources you find.

Watch the video below to learn how to access our online resources.

Subject-Specific Databases

MCC databases:

ProQuest Coronavirus Research Database This link opens in a new window
Provides a collection of journal articles, preprints, conference proceedings, dissertations and more related to COVID-19 and other coronaviruses. It includes comprehensive research background coverage of past pandemics and epidemics, such as MERS and SARS.
Science Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full-text science-oriented content. Contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, animations, images, and videos. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology, and wildlife.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Contains articles on health topics and medical research from journals, magazines, reference books, pamphlets, and videos.
Agricultural Science Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Agricultural Science Collection provides full-text articles from the leading agricultural journals published in North America. It includes access to AGRICOLA, a database compiled by the U.S. National Agricultural Library, which covers the world's literature in agricultural research published in books, technical reports, and more than 1,400 journals after 1970.

Databases and journals online:

PubMed
More than 20 million citations for biomedical literature. If you find an article you would like to have, contact a reference librarian for full-text access.
AIMS Microbiology
AIMS Microbiology is an international Open Access journal devoted to publishing peer-reviewed, high quality, original papers in the field of microbiology.
PLOS Biology
The Public Library of Science publishes open access scholarly research on STEM topics.

General Databases

ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text articles from scholarly journals, magazines, trade publications, and other sources. Wide range of subject areas, including the arts, business, education, health, law, multicultural, psychology, the sciences, and social science.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archived database of articles from academic journals in many fields, especially history, sociology, political science, business, education, law, economics, ethnic studies, language & literature, philosophy, religion, music, art & art history, film studies, folklore, the performing arts, health, mathematics, and the sciences.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Access streaming video thousands of videos and video clips on a wide variety of subjects.