Search Tips - Understanding Primary Sources - Maple Woods - LibGuides at Metropolitan Community College Kansas City

Finding Primary Sources in the Library Databases

MCC Libraries subscribe to a large selection of databases across many disciplines. To search databases for electronic versions of primary documents, visit our history databases.

CAUTION: Some databases contain both primary and secondary source content. Always pay attention to when and by whom a document was written to distinguish primary sources.

MCC Libraries Databases List
A list of all databases MCC subscribes too. To view history databases, sort by subject and the database list will sort in alphabetical order by subject.

Some Major Published Series of Primary Sources

Below are some examples of primary sources available from the MCC Libraries:

The American nation : primary sources
This volume resumes the narrative begun in its companion volume, "The American Republic", which covered the first eight decades of U.S. history, ending at the onset of the Civil War. "The American Nation" continues the story through America's entrance into World War II. --from publisher description.
Essential Primary Sources Series
All titles contain an introduction to its topic, a chronology of major events associated with the topic, and a general index.

Milestone documents in American history : exploring the primary sources that shaped America by Finkelman, Paul, 1949-Lesh, Bruce A.
Call Number: 973 M598
ISBN: 9780979775802
Publication Date: 2008
Contains thirty-two full-text primary source documents that helped to shape American society from 1763 to 1823 including the Proclamation of 1763, Treaty of Fort Pitt, the Bill of Rights, the Missouri Compromise, and the Monroe Doctrine

Finding Primary Sources in the Catalog

This video will give a quick demonstration of several tricks to help you locate primary sources in the library catalog.

Click on "advanced search" on the right side of the main search bar.
In the first box type in your topic or subject- for example: Vietnam War.
In the second box type "primary sources."

For a MOBIUS search - click the "search MOBIUS" tab

Click "Advanced Search." Your search terms should still be in place.
Click "Add Boolean" and select "OR."
Add the additional keywords such as diaries, manuscripts, journals. You will need to add a Boolean "OR" for each keyword.

Maple Woods Library Catalog

MOBIUS Catalog Search

Can't find what you're looking for? Search and request materials from MOBIUS member libraries across the region.

Finding Primary Sources Online

Many universities, government agencies, and historical associations provide digital libraries of primary sources on the Internet. Ask your professor to confirm, but websites like these are usually allowed.

Library of Congress: American Memory Project
George Mason U.: U.S. primary documents
Virginia Center for Digital History: U.S. history
Yale Law School: Avalon Project
National Park Service: browse many exhibits at Exhibits and External links

Search for more digital collections with Google Advanced Search (see the tutorial video on this page).

If you are researching a certain city, state, or region, look for major digital collections created by that city or state.

Try web searches for a city or state digital library, such as "Illinois digital library" or "Chicago digital library."
Search for the state library and archives commission (for instance, "Texas State Library and Archives") to look for major state-wide digitization initiatives.
Identify major universities in the area (for instance, the University of Houston if you're studying the greater Houston area) and check out those university websites to look for digital collections that might be helpful (tip: start at their library's page and look for phrases like "digital collections"!) .

Understanding Primary Sources - Maple Woods