Skip to Main Content

How to Use the Academic Search Elite (EBSCO) Database: Step By Step : Home

2nd version; 2025/10

Start Here

  1. Go to the MCC Library Databases page, select the Academic Search Elite (EBSCO) database, and log in.
    Click on the Academic Search Elite (EBSCO) hyperlinked text.
    Log in using MCC email address and password.
  2. Enter your search term/s in the text bar. Use And, Or, or Not between multiple terms.
    Click on the “Full Text” box and, if needed, the “Peer Reviewed” box (you can also do this later).


    Adjust Search Results as Needed!
    You can adjust your keywords in the box at the top, check and uncheck the “Full Text” and “Peer Reviewed” boxes, and use the “All Time” box to adjust how new or old the results are!
  3. Look at the Results list and find a hyperlinked title that interests you. Click on it.
    Don’t click only on the first article link you see!
  4. Scan the information: title, author, publication information.
    Title is in big text.
    “Published in” is the publication information.  
    “By” is the author information.
  5. Read the Abstract (short summary) further down the page.
    Does this article fit with what you are researching?
  6. If the abstract looks good, read the article.
    Go to the “Access Options” box right underneath the article’s main information, and click on “Online full text.”

    To see a translation of the article, in the “Online full text” area ONLY, look for the globe icon. Click it.

    To hear your article read aloud, in the “PDF” or the “Online full text” area, look for the headphones icon. Click it.
  7. If you decide you want to use the article, make sure to send a copy of the article to yourself.

    To email the article to yourself, click on the arrow that is moving up and to the right. You will have the option to Share using Google Drive or Microsoft One Drive in the first tab, or email the article to yourself in the second tab.
    Please make sure to check your receiving drive to make sure it works!

    To download your article, find the downward-moving arrow. Click on it.
    Helpful hint: PDF downloads work the best, so we recommend selecting that option.      

    You may also grab a citation in your chosen format by clicking on the quotation mark icon.



  8. Click on “Results” to get back to the Results list.
    Repeat Steps 3-7 as needed.

     

Librarian