Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Longview - Archives and Special Collections

The repository for items related to the MCC-Longview campus, Longview Farm, and Long family.

MCC-Longview Campus Collection

In 1968, Loula Long Combs and Sallie America Long, daughters of R.A. Long, donated 146 acres of the Longview Farm to the Metropolitan Junior College District for the construction of the Longview campus. The original campus, financed through a 1965 bond, opened in 1969 with 1,517 students. This campus was comprised of seven temporary buildings. These temporary structures actually remained until 1986, due to the failure of two tax levies to pass in 1975 and 1976 for the construction of new campus buildings. However, between 1986 and 2008, the current shape of Longview emerged with the construction of permanent buildings.‚Äč 

This collection encompasses archival material related to the MCC-Longview campus, 1965-2022. Types of items held in this collection are newspaper clippings, event materials, institutional publications, photographs, art, floor plans, departmental papers, audiovisual materials, and ephemera. Materials in the collection represent campus events, departments, students, faculty/staff, and administration.

Use the "finding aid" to search and browse the collection. 

Please contact the MCC Longview library for more information about the collections at 816-604-2080.

 

The Long Family and Longview Farm Collection

In 1913, lumber magnate R.A. Long purchased 12 separate farms, totaling 1,583 acres, in order to create a modern showpiece farm – Longview Farm. He desired a self-sufficient dairy farm that would also serve as a residence for his employees and their families.  During the farm’s construction, which included the simultaneous construction of 50 buildings, the site was the largest single construction site in the United States. In 1922, he added an additional 197 acres to the farm, totaling 1,780 acres – 2.75 square miles.

This collection consists of items related to the Long Family and Longview Farm, ca. 1914 - 2013. Items include photographs, scrapbooks, newspaper clippings, maps, artifacts, pamphlets, essays, and other ephemera.   

Use the "finding aid" to search and browse the collection.