Penn Valley - History 140 - African American History

The collection provides extensive genealogical information about the deceased, including birth and death dates, maiden names, names of relatives, past residences, and place of burial. Many of the people included in this collection were prominent in their communities, and many were involved locally in the struggle for civil rights.

This African American collection was the first oral history collection the University of Louisville Digital Archives made available online. It covers the history of African Americans in Louisville, KY.

Various digitized collections from the Alabama Dept. of Archives and History

The Avalon Project mounts digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government. They do not intend to mount only static text but rather to add value to the text by linking to supporting documents expressly referred to in the body of the text.

"This 13,000 page reference center is dedicated to providing information to the general public on African American history and on the history of the more than one billion people of African ancestry around the world."

Contact info for state archivists, by state.

Created by the /university of North Carolina-Greensboro, the Digital Library on American Slavery (DLAS) is an expanding resource compiling independent collections focused upon race and slavery in the American South, made searchable through a single, simple interface. DLAS houses tens of thousands of records relating to all 15 slave states and Washington, D.C. as well as a number of northern states. DLAS contains detailed personal information about over 100 thousand individuals, including enslaved people, enslavers, free people of color, and more.

The history of the free African American community as told through the family history and genealogy of most African Americans who were free in the Southeast during the colonial period

"The Geography of Slavery in Virginia is a digital collection of advertisements for runaway and captured slaves and servants in 18th- and 19th-century Virginia newspapers. Building on the rich descriptions of individual slaves and servants in the ads, the project offers a personal, geographical and documentary context for the study of slavery in Virginia, from colonial times to the Civil War."

A portal to some of Georgia's most important historical documents, from 1733 to the present. The Virtual Vault provides virtual access to historic Georgia manuscripts, photographs, maps, and government records housed in the state archives.

An index of databases held in the Illinois State Archives.

This website makes Illinois's archives, libraries, and other repositories easier to access.

All of the Library of Congress's digital collections.

More than 2,300 first-person accounts of slavery and 500 black-and-white photographs of former slaves. These narratives were collected in the 1930s as part of the Federal Writers' Project (FWP) of the Works Progress Administration,

Missouri Digital Heritage is a collaborative effort that dramatically expands the amount of information available online about Missouri’s past. The Missouri State Archives and the Missouri State Library are assisting institutions across the state in digitizing their records and placing them online for easy access.

Where to go to search various archival collections held by the National Archives and Records Administration.

The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. Of all documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States federal government, only 1%-3% are so important for legal or historical reasons that they are kept in these collections forever.

The South Carolina Department of Archives and History has digitized selected portions of its records holdings for online access.

Black Pearls of Genealogy is a nonprofit committed to preserving and honoring Black Family History through accessible genealogy tools. Their memorial projects and free research tools uncover records, stories, and legacies.

Maps, Timelines, Essays, Images, Texts regarding the African slave trade. From the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, New York Public Library.

The mission of the Black Archives of Mid-America in Kansas City, Inc. is to collect, preserve and make available to the public materials documenting the social, economic, political and cultural histories of persons of African American descent in the central United States, with particular emphasis in the Kansas City, Missouri region.

A non-profit educational institution committed to preserving, developing and providing easy access to an internationally recognized, archival collection of thousands of African American video oral histories. It is the single largest archival collection of its kind in the world designed to promote and celebrate the successes and to document movements, events and organizations that are important to the African American community and to American society.

Their mission is to actively preserve and share Kansas history by collecting, preserving, and interpreting state government and history to enhance government transparency, provide economic development assistance, and educate students and families.