Find Articles - Biography and Profiles Research Guide - Longview - LibGuides at Metropolitan Community College Kansas City

Who are your researching?

Below you will find many different databases that contain biographical information.

But first, think about who you are researching and which databases will work best for your topic.
When did they live?
Why are they famous?

For ALL figures - try ProQuest and MAS Ultra School.
For historical figures - try American History Online or Ancient and Medieval History (if they lived before the 1600s)
For Artists - Oxford Art Online
For Musicians - Oxford Music Online
For Authors - JSTOR or Bloom's Literature
For African Americans - African American History Online
For American Women - American Women's History Online
For Native Americans - American Indian History Online
For Scientists and Environmentalists - Science Online

Databases

These databases are available both on and off campus. To access them off campus, you must login through myMCCKC.

African-American History Online (Facts on File) This link opens in a new window
Provides material from core reference resources in African American studies. Includes biographies.
American History Online (Facts on File) This link opens in a new window
Find historical biographical information on thousands of American men and women.
American Indian History Online (Facts on File) This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of more than 5,000 years of culture, legends, and leaders. Over 500 Native American groups are covered, including biographies.
American Women's History Online (Facts on File) This link opens in a new window
Are you researching an American woman? Use this database to find biographical information and more.
Ancient and Medieval History Online (Facts on File) This link opens in a new window
Spanning the period from the early hominids 3 to 5 million years ago through 1522 CE, features subject entries, biographies, primary sources, images, maps and charts, and timelines.
Art Online (Oxford) This link opens in a new window
Researching an artist? Check here for biographical information.
Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window
Find information on authors, titles, themes, and characters in literature, throughout history and all nationalities. Includes images and videos.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archived database of articles from academic journals in many fields, especially history, sociology, political science, ethnic studies, language & literature, philosophy, mathematics, religion, music, business, education, art & art history, law, and economics.
Music Online (Oxford) This link opens in a new window
Researching a musician? Check here.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text articles from scholarly journals, magazines, trade publications, and other sources. Wide range of subject areas, including the arts, business, education, health, law, multicultural, psychology, the sciences, and social science.

Biography and Profiles Research Guide - Longview

Contact Us - Longview

Ask A Librarian- Chat Reference

Who are your researching?

Databases