Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Penn Valley - History 140 - African American History

This guide includes resources and research tips to accompany the Penn Valley course History 140, taught by Lyle Gibson.

About Databases...

What is a database?

A database is a collection of information that can be searchedOur library databases are collections of articlesYou can search the databases by subject, keyword, author, date, etc.... to find articles for your research. 

Electronic Research

Some suggestions for searching databases and websites:

What is a Keyword?

A significant word/term/concept from the article or book.  The article or book is indexed according to the keywords identified in it.  A keyword may be a word that is repeated often in the writing.  It may be the subject of the writing, or a secondary important concept.

MCC Databases for History Research

The library databases are available both on and off campus.  To access them off campus, log in to myMCCKC first.

A Few More Searching Tips

·         Don’t use punctuation/capitalization

·         Don’t use natural language (as you would speak) – instead use brief phrases or single words

·         Choose the "Full Text" and "Peer Reviewed" limiters when possible

 ·         Be sure all words are spelled correctly 

·         If you are not finding what you need, try different search terms or combinations of search terms

·         Try an "Advanced Search" and choose different search fields if possible