Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Botany - Longview

This page provides resources for the study of plants. Related course: BIOL 104.

Contact Us - Longview

Guide Librarian

Ask A Librarian - Chat Reference

 

Text a Librarian @ 816.920.0275

(standard text messaging rates apply)

Find Botany Articles

NOTE: To access the MCC Databases, enter your student/employee number (S1234567) followed by your MCC password.

What is a database, and why should I use them?

MCC currently subscribes to many electronic resources. These electronic resources, or databases, provide access to online books, journal articles, dissertations, newspapers, and other materials such as images or sound recordings.

How do I find electronic resources at the Library? 

  • Here is a list of the library's databases. 
  • You can access them off-campus by accessing myMCC and selecting the MCC Library Homepage button on the left.

‚ÄčWhy should I use the materials in these electronic resources for my research?

  • Many of the databases focus on indexing or providing access to core academic journals. These journals are well respected within the academic community and are peer-reviewed to ensure the quality of the research included within the publication. Most of these journals are published by reputable publishers or university presses.
  • Make sure to limit your results to include only scholarly or peer reviewed journals. Most databases that have access to scholarly journals will give you this option. If you do not limit your results, you are likely to also retrieve non-scholarly sources, such as newspaper and magazine articles.

Scholarly vs. Popular Articles

Scholarly Articles (Journals)

  • Are written by scholars, researchers, faculty, and academics within a chosen field.
  • Use scholarly or technical language.
  • Are research based – contain a methodology used to conduct the research and the results of the research.
  • Are often REFEREED or PEER REVIEWED (it has gone through a process of review by a panel of experts in that specific field of study).
  • Contain full citations and a list of references for sources.
  • Book reviews and editorials are not considered scholarly articles, even when found in scholarly journals.

Popular Articles (Magazines)

  • You could buy in a grocery store.
  • Often report current events or SUMMARIZE research.
  • Use language easily understood by general readers.
  • Sources may be quoted, but rarely give bibliographies or full references.
  • Tend to be shorter than journal articles. 
 
Points to remember:
  • Both magazines and journal articles can be good sources for your work.
  • Often a combination of the two will be most appropriate for undergraduate research.

Keywords and Subject Headings

Keywords are incredibly important in your search for books, articles, websites, and other resources. Search results can only be as good as the information you put into the search bar, so think carefully about your search terms. When using catalogs and databases, avoid typing questions, but rather use words and terms that are appropriate for academics. 
Keywords for Botany: 
Plants
"Botanical science"
"Floristic botany"
Phytobiology
Phytography
Phytology
"Plant biology"
"Plant science"

Search Tips
Utilize the Advanced Search feature for databases, catalogs, and search engines.
Limit the search results by date, publisher, file type, and more. 
Type in multiple keywords separated by AND, OR, or NOT. 
"AND" will only provide results where all of the keywords appear. "OR" will provide results where any of the keywords appear. "NOT" will exclude results that include that particular keyword. 
It is also useful to utilize quotation marks around multi-word terms when you want the term to appear exactly as you type it. For instance if you searched for information about "distracted driving" placing the term in quotation marks tell the search that you only want results where those words appears together.