Find Articles - Psychology - Longview - LibGuides at Metropolitan Community College Kansas City

What is a database and why should I use them?

MCC currently subscribes to many electronic resources. These electronic resources, or databases, provide access to online books, journal articles, dissertations, newspapers, and other materials such as images or sound recordings.

Why should I use the materials in these electronic resources for my research?

Many of the databases focus on indexing or providing access to core academic journals. These journals are well respected within the academic community and are peer-reviewed to ensure the quality of the research included within the publication. Most of these journals are published by reputable publishers or university presses.
Make sure to limit your results to include only scholarly or peer reviewed journals. Most databases that have access to scholarly journals will give you this option. If you do not limit your results, you are likely to also retrieve non-scholarly sources, such as newspaper and magazine articles.

Psychology databases

ProQuest Psychology This link opens in a new window
Psychology Database covers a wide range of topics from leading psychology and psychosomatic publications with coverage of related disciplines including genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, and more. It includes abstracts and indexing for more than 650 titles, with over 540 titles available in full text.
Criminal Justice Periodicals (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Search a comprehensive collection of U.S. and international criminal justice journals including information for professionals in law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text articles for 3,600+ periodicals, including nearly 1000 peer-reviewed titles, and abstracts for over 1,460 periodicals. Wide range of subject areas, including the arts, business, education, health, law, multicultural, psychology, science, and social science.