Skip to Main Content
MCC Libraries
LibGuides
Eng 102 - Norton - Penn Valley
Topical Readings
Search this Guide
Search
Eng 102 - Norton - Penn Valley: Topical Readings
Home
Critical Thinking Readings
Topical Readings
Places to Begin Further Research
Browse Issues
Browse all Opposing Viewpoints' issues here
Kansas City Star
This link opens in a new window
Find information covering the Kansas City metropolitan area including community issues, business, education, government and sports. (Full-text coverage 1991-current)
Race and Education
Misguided Efforts to Ban Critical Race Theory Could Backfire
Far-Right Groups Are Using 'Parental Rights' to Eliminate the Department of Education
These Parents and Teachers Have Had Enough of Woke Classrooms and Critical Race Theory
Race and class can color teachers' digital expectations for their students – with white students getting more encouragement
Racial stereotypes drive students of color away from STEM, but many still persist
Racial and Financial Inequities Hamper Public Education
Colleges Should Not Use Race-Sensitive Admissions Policies
Multicultural Education Is Counterproductive
Social Justice
Opposing Viewpoints Overview: Social Justice
Opposing Viewpoints Overviews provides a brief overview of the topic along with links to more resources.
CQ Researcher Overview: Teaching about Racism
CQ Researchers' compiled overview of the topic with cited and linked sources.
CQ Researcher Overview: Parents' Rights
CQ Researchers' compiled overview of the topic with cited and linked sources
CQ Researcher Overview: Free Speech on Campus
CQ Researchers' compiled overview of the topic with cited and linked sources
Treatment of Indigenous Peoples
Opposing Viewpoints Overview: Native American Rights
Opposing Viewpoints Overviews provides a brief overview of the topic along with links to more resources.
Opposing Viewpoints Overview: Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls (MMIWG)
Opposing Viewpoints provides a brief overview of the topic along with links to more resources.
CQ Researcher Overview: Native American Rights
CQ Researchers' compiled overview of the topic with cited and linked sources
Affordable Housing
Opposing Viewpoints Overview: Affordable Housing
Opposing Viewpoints Overviews provides a brief overview of the topic along with links to more resources.
Kansas City affordable housing plans face strong pushback at city hall.
The Rent Revolution Is Coming.
The article references Mayor Lucas' "affordable housing" plans.
Social Media
Opposing Viewpoints Overview: Social Media
Opposing Viewpoints Overviews provides a brief overview of the topic along with links to more resources.
Opposing Viewpoints Overview: Fake News on Social Media
Opposing Viewpoints Overviews provides a brief overview of the topic along with links to more resources.
Sports
Sports remain hostile territory for LGBTQ Americans
Simone Biles Illustrates the Power of Female Voices in Sport
Title IX Hurts Men's Sports
Title IX Is a Success and Should Not Be Blamed for Hurting Men's Sports
NBA Labor Issues Are Based in Racism
When white sports fans turn on black athletes
Colin Kaepernick's protest might be unpatriotic. And that's just fine
Most Native American-Themed Sports Mascots Are Flattering and Not Racist
Native American-Themed Sports Mascots Are Racist and Reinforce Negative Stereotypes
U.S. Anti-Trans Laws Won't 'Save Women's Sports'
Technology and Education
Opposing Viewpoints Overview: Technology and Education
Opposing Viewpoints Overviews provides a brief overview of the topic along with links to more resources.
Artificial Intelligence
Opposing Viewpoints Overview: Artificial Intelligence
Opposing Viewpoints Overviews provides a brief overview of the topic along with links to more resources.
CQ Researcher Overview: The Future of Artificial Integlligence
CQ Researchers' compiled overview of the topic with cited and linked sources
LGBTQ Issues
Opposing Viewpoints Overview: Anti-LGBTQ+ Discrimination, Bullying, and Violence
Opposing Viewpoints Overviews provides a brief overview of the topic along with links to more resources.
Opposing Viewpoins Overview: LGBTQ+ Community and Military Service
Opposing Viewpoints Overviews provides a brief overview of the topic along with links to more resources.
Opposing Viewpoints Overview: LGBTQ+ Community Equality
Opposing Viewpoints Overviews provides a brief overview of the topic along with links to more resources.
CQ Researcher Overview: LGBTQ Rights
CQ Researchers' compiled overview of the topic with cited and linked sources
<<
Previous:
Critical Thinking Readings
