Find Databases & Articles - PSYC 140 - Westra - Longview - LibGuides at Metropolitan Community College Kansas City

Contact Us - Longview

Longview Library

Guide Librarian

Find Articles

ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text articles from scholarly journals, magazines, trade publications, and other sources. Wide range of subject areas, including the arts, business, education, health, law, multicultural, psychology, the sciences, and social science.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archived database of articles from academic journals in many fields, especially history, sociology, political science, business, education, law, economics, ethnic studies, language & literature, philosophy, religion, music, art & art history, film studies, folklore, the performing arts, health, mathematics, and the sciences.
Academic Search Elite (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A core resource of scholarly information, with thousands of full-text journals, covering all majors and disciplines.

What is a database, and why should I use them?

MCC currently subscribes to many electronic resources. These electronic resources, or databases, provide access to online books, journal articles, dissertations, newspapers, and other materials such as images or sound recordings.

How do I find electronic resources at the Library?

Here is a list of the library's databases.
You can access them off-campus by accessing myMCC and selecting the MCC Library Homepage button on the left.

Why should I use the materials in these electronic resources for my research?

Many of the databases focus on indexing or providing access to core academic journals. These journals are well respected within the academic community and are peer-reviewed to ensure the quality of the research included within the publication. Most of these journals are published by reputable publishers or university presses.
Make sure to limit your results to include only scholarly or peer reviewed journals. Most databases that have access to scholarly journals will give you this option. If you do not limit your results, you are likely to also retrieve non-scholarly sources, such as newspaper and magazine articles.