Open Educational Resources - Longview

AMSER is a portal of educational resources and services built specifically for use by those in Community and Technical Colleges but free for anyone to use.

The Biodiversity Heritage Library improves research methodology by collaboratively making biodiversity literature openly available to the world as part of a global biodiversity community.

The Biology Corner is a resource site for biology and science teachers. It contains a variety of lessons, quizzes, labs, web quests, and information on science topics. You can find lessons related to biology topics in the links listed under “topics” on the sidebar.

This library is a public and easily accessible resource database of images, videos, and animations of cells, capturing a wide diversity of organisms, cell types, and cellular processes.

Use our database to search and browse climate laws, policies and litigation cases globally.

This site provides two databases of climate change caselaw. The Global database includes all cases except those in the U.S. Cases in the databases are organized by type of claim and are searchable. For many cases, links are available to decisions, complaints, and other case documents.

DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) - this independent index contains almost 17,500 peer-reviewed, open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities.

An electronic reference about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society. The EoE is a free, expert-reviewed collection of content contributed by scholars, professionals, educators, practitioners and other experts who collaborate and review each other's work.

Some free peer-reviewed articles in the sciences and medicine.

Visitors can find over a dozen lectures by professors from the University of Utah, the Howard Hughes Medical Institute, MIT, and other schools. Lectures include Tissue Engineering, Fruits of the Genome Sequence, and Bacteriophages: Genes and Genomes.

The Museum of Science in Boston has an impressive array of podcasts, and visitors with a love of science will want to peruse this site closely.

The NNI is a U.S. Government research and development (R&D) initiative involving 20 departments and independent agencies working together toward the shared vision of "a future in which the ability to understand and control matter at the nanoscale leads to a revolution in technology and industry that benefits society."

The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.

Public library of science. Free full-text, peer-reviewed articles in the sciences.

Over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results. Make sure to choose the public access option.

Scitable is a free science library and personal learning tool brought to you by Nature Publishing Group, the world's leading publisher of science. Scitable currently concentrates on genetics and cell biology, which include the topics of evolution, gene expression, and the rich complexity of cellular processes shared by living organisms. Scitable also offers resources for the budding scientist, with advice about effective science communication and career paths.

The Agricultural Research Service (ARS) is the U.S. Department of Agriculture's chief scientific in-house research agency. Our job is finding solutions to agricultural problems that affect Americans every day from field to table

Peer-reviewed modules, grouped into scientific disciplines, explore a range of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) topics from a process perspective.

Learn Health & Medicine, earn certificates with free online courses from Harvard, Stanford, MIT, University of Pennsylvania and other top universities around the world.

The Food and Nutrition Information Center (FNIC) is a leader in online global nutrition information. Located at the National Agricultural Library (NAL) of the United States Department of Agriculture, the FNIC website contains over 2500 links to current and reliable nutrition information.

An integrated data system that provides expanded nutrient profile data and links to related agricultural and experimental research.

The gateway to food safety information provided by government agencies.

Over the next years, the most important medical journals will be available online, free and in full-text.

Some free full text science, psychology, and health journal archives.

Mayo Clinic is the largest integrated, not-for-profit medical group practice in the world. Our relentless research turns into earlier diagnoses and new cures.

Medical Dictionary of Health Terms by Harvard Health Publishing

MedicineNet is an online, healthcare media publishing company. We provide easy-to-read, in-depth, authoritative medical information for consumers via a robust, user-friendly, interactive website.

MedlinePlus is a service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the world's largest medical library, which is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

MedPix® is a free open-access online database of medical images, teaching cases, and clinical topics, integrating images and textual metadata including over 12,000 patient case scenarios, 9,000 topics, and nearly 59,000 images.

The Merck Manuals are a comprehensive medical information source covering thousands of topics in all fields of medicine. They are offered as a free public service to health care professionals and the general public.

The National Institutes of Health (NIH), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the nation’s medical research agency — making important discoveries that improve health and save lives.

Offers comprehensive nutrition information through timely articles and FAQ’s, while recipes and tools, including The Healthy Eating Plate, facilitate the translation of food and nutrition knowledge into daily practice.

The U.S. Surgeon General is the Nation’s Doctor, providing Americans with the best scientific information available on how to improve their health and reduce the risk of illness and injury. The Surgeon General oversees the U.S. Public Health Service (USPHS) Commissioned Corps, an elite group of over 6,000 uniformed officers who are public health professionals.

A-Z list of conditions treated

WebMD’s Pill Identifier can help you put a name to an unknown medication. It identifies prescription and over-the-counter (OTC) meds that you take in solid form by mouth, like tablets and capsules.

PMC is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine

If you’re studying the life cycles of living organisms, you’ve come to the right place. We break down the processes of everything from bacteria to blue whales.

a user-friendly and easily accessible tool for obtaining state-level estimates related to health and health care—such as insurance coverage, access, cost, utilization, and outcomes—as well as equity and economic measures.

Main areas of work are health systems; health through the life-course; noncommunicable and communicable diseases; preparedness, surveillance and response; and corporate services.